All the action from the Curry Merry Muster Festival

Loading ....


The Curry Merry Muster Festival has concluded its 65th anniversary, with plenty of action had over the three day event.

Friday commenced with the Bush Poet’s Breakfast and Little Cowbears Picnic followed by the Junior APRA Rodeo. The events continued into the evening with the Street Parade and Xtreme Bulls showcasing artistic and rodeo talents.

The Street Festival prizes saw Ernest Henry Mining win the Best Dressed Elvis, Cloncurry Hospital won the Best Dressed Premises, St Joseph’s School won the Most Outstanding Float, Cloncurry State School won the Best School/Centre Float, the Black Short Bed F100 won Most Outstanding Vehicle and Wagners won the Best Presented Prime Mover.

The Xtreme Bulls saw a record number of spectators through the gates at the Cloncurry Recreation Grounds with Dylan Weir winning the Xtreme Bulls competition and Dylan Richardson winning the $1000 shoot out.

The Junior Rodeo winners included Barrel Race winner Brandee Ferguson, Steer Ride winners were Lane Johns and Daniel Simpson, Breakaway Roping winner was Tyler Kenny, Header winner was Jobie McPhee and Healer winner was Toby Hale.

On Saturday the honours went to Luke Chaplain who won the Paddy Cusack Memorial Local All Round Cowboy.

Rowan Markham won the Open Bull Ride, Terry Evison won the Rex Morland Memorial Steer Wrestling, wild card Ben O’Reilly won the Ken Coleman Open Saddle Bronc Chute Out, Cherie O’Donoghue won the Ladies Breakaway Roping, Ben Hall won the Open Bareback, Terry Evison and Shane Iker won the Joe Robertson Snr Memorial Team Roping, Eddie Campbell won the inaugural station buck jump and Tom Knight won the Vic Remfrey Memorial Open Saddle Bronc Ride.

The North West Star

The story All the action from the Curry Merry Muster Festival first appeared on North Queensland Register.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here