Hammersonic Festival reschedules upcoming edition to 2022

Loading ....


Hammersonic Festival is taking the safe route for its next outing.

The long-running Jakarta metal festival has announced a second delay, securing 2022 as the year for international bands such as Slipknot to perform in the country.

Hammersonic Festival 2020 was initially set for end-March this year, but was subsequently pushed back to January 2021 with the escalating coronavirus pandemic in the country.

However, the festival took to social media yesterday (Dec 29) to announce that the festival will only return on March 26 and 27 in 2022. The original headliners, Slipknot, remain the only band confirmed for this new edition.

“We understand this information will be hard to accept, especially the Hammerheads [who have] already held [tickets],” the festival wrote in a statement.

“But together with the performers and the entire staff, [we sincerely apologise] for the inconvenience this has caused. This incident was never in our plans and we continue to look forward to your support, from all of you.”

The festival remains a highlight in the region, boasting lineups that consist of international acts and local favourites. The now-rescheduled 2021 edition was slated to host Lacuna Coil, Black Flag, Suicide Silence and more, alongside Slipknot.

The move should not be surprising to many. Just yesterday, Indonesia’s Foreign Minister announced that its borders will be shut to foreign travellers for the first two weeks of 2021, citing concerns over a new strain of coronavirus found in the United Kingdom.

The country also continues to face a rise in positive cases nine months into the pandemic. It is predicted that the surge may not waver in 2021. “We will need to [stay alert] when entering 2021, as there is a risk of a surge in cases,” Dicky Budiman, an epidemiologist at Griffith University in Australia, explained in a report by The Jakarta Post.


READ  59th Autumn Daze begins festival blitz in Vine Grove | Local News

Ads by MyCBGenie 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here